IELTS is an internationally-recognised English language test.  IELTS is recognised by thousands of universities and professional organisations around the world, as well as the UK Immigration authorities (UKVI).  There is no pass as such in the test. Anyone who takes the test will be awarded a mark from 1 to 9, where 9 is an expert user.  However many universities require a score of more than 6.5 or 7, which represents a competent user.

In 2017, over 3 million tests were taken in more than 140 countries.
IELTS exam consists of 4 parts:
.  Listening  -  40 minutes
.  Reading  -   60  minutes
.  Writing  -    60 minutes
.  Speaking  -  11- 14 minutes
IELTS also has an exam called Life Skills at A1, A2 and B1 Levels, which are Secure English Language Tests, used for immigration purposes, as they are recognised by UKVI  (UK Immigration authorities)

┬ęCopyright www.english4everyone.net